BLU Crew awards to be handed out Friday night

APPLETON, Wis. — The BLU Crew Awards will be selected Friday evening at the Warch Campus Center.

The second annual event is sponsored by Lawrence University's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). SAAC will hand out 13 awards to its fellow Vikings.

The event begins at 7 p.m. and is open to the public.

The categories and nominees are as follows:

Breakthrough Athlete

Taylor Reifert, men's soccer
Ben Peterson, men's basketball
Kori Looker, softball
Hannah Kinzer, women's cross country/track and field

Best Lawrence Win

Women's basketball vs. Marian
Hockey vs. Augsburg
Josh Janusiak at Midwest Conference Championships
Softball vs. Benedictine (Ill.)
Alicia Lex vs. Monmouth women's tennis

Most Outstanding Play

Lauren Deveikis game-winning 3-pointer vs. Marian
Women's swimming 200-yard freestyle relay at Midwest Conference Championships
Brad Mueller game-winning goal in overtime vs. Northland
Terrell Myers 100-yard kickoff return for touchdown vs. Illinois College
Nolan Spencer steal of home vs. Clarkson
Josh Janusiak record-setting 10,000-meter race at Hillsdale Relays
Biggest Upset

Hockey vs. No. 6 Augsburg
Women's swimming placing second at Midwest Conference Championships
Men's swimming placing fourth at Midwest Conference Championships
Joe Kortenhof placing fifth among all freshmen at NCAA Midwest Cross Country Regional
Softball vs. regionally-ranked Benedictine (Ill.)
Mikaela Hintz placing fifth in 400 meters at Midwest Conference Championships
Best Individual Performance

Women's swimming record-setting 200-yard freestyle relay
Taylor Reifert men's soccer vs. Edgewood
Pete Winslow men's basketball vs. Cornell/Illinois College
Ben Peterson men's basketball vs. Knox
Josh Janusiak at Midwest Conference Cross Country Championships
Josh Janusiak record-setting 10,000-meter race at Hillsdale Relays
Noah Shea wins triple jump/Newcomer of the Year at Midwest Conference Indoor Championships
Rookies of the Year (Men and Women)

Noah Shea, track and field
Terrell Myers, football/track and field
Evan Cline, hockey
Mikaela Hintz, track and field
Amanda Karnatz, softball
Elise Riggle, swimming
Coach of the Year

Steve Francour, tennis
Drew Fleek, swimming and diving
Will Greer, men's soccer
Male Athlete of the Year

Taylor Reifert, men's soccer
Jake Gostisha, football
Matthew Holliday, baseball
David Jumes, men's tennis
Josh Janusiak, cross country/track and field
Female Athlete of the Year

Hannah Kinzer, cross country/track and field
Arianna Neumeyer, volleyball
Amanda Karnatz, softball
Ryan Berkley, soccer
Defensive Award

Jake Gostisha, football
Cyra Bammer, volleyball
Nolan Spencer, baseball
Casey Merkle, women's soccer
Evan Cline, hockey
Viking Award
Eryn Blagg, swimming/track and field
Natalie Kramer, basketball
Jackson Straughan, football/track and field
Colleen Nowlan, volleyball
Iron Vike
Arianna Neumeyer, volleyball
Madeline MacLean, softball
Lewis Berger, men's soccer
Jake Roeper, hockey