Thirteen Vikings named to NCHA All-Academic team

Thirteen Vikings named to NCHA All-Academic team

APPLETON, Wis. -- Thirteen Lawrence University student-athletes have been named to the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association All-Academic team.

The Vikings have one three-time selection, five two-time selections and six others were honored for the first time. To be selected for the team, a student-athlete must be at least a sophomore and have a minimum 3.3 grade point average.

Senior forward Jake Roeper (Thiensville,Wis.), an economics and geology major, was selected for the third consecutive year.

Senior forward Lane King (Waunakee, Wis.) and senior defenseman Matt Montemurro (Glenview, Ill.) were both honored for the second time and both are economics majors. In the junior class, goaltender and goverment major Greg Procopio (Philadelphia, Pa.), forward and neuroscience Nick Felan (Highlands Village, Texas) and defenseman and economics major Tomas Vesely (Prague, Czech Republic) were all honored for the second time.

Senior defenseman Austin Frank (DeForest, Wis.), an economics major, was honored for the first time. Senior forward Mikkel Joehnk (Princeton, N.J.), a global studies major, also earned a berth on the all-academic team.

Other first-time honorees are all from the sophomore class. They are forward and biology major Matt Beranek (Lake Villa, Ill.), goaltender and chemistry major Evan Cline (Freeland, Mich.) forward and economics major Jake Drinkard (Lapeer, Mich.), defenseman and economics major Daniel Gysi (Basel, Switzerland) and forward and economics and math major Chase Wiedemann (Clarkston, Mich.).

The 13 selections is the most ever for the Vikings.